Roar, the beyond beast mode challenge

nrc-20161120_144131-beast-mode-challenge
Written by: Jehan Daal

Morning of January the 2nd
At work we kick off with a New Year’s Breakfast. Across the table sits the manager. Lately he and I have something in common.While we are laughing and enjoying all the food on the table, the manager clears his throat. Beside the best wishes for 2017, he has some great news. The colleagues look at each other and then look back at him. With hope and some eagerness in our eyes.

“This year we are going to do the 16km Dam to Dam Business Run with the team!”  He says very enthusiastically and it looks like he wants to jump up and down, but remembers just in time that jumping isn’t really a manager thing to do.
“Our visual designer will be responsible for the design of the running shirts. For Jehan a great way to celebrate her health and for…” 

OMG did he just say… 16 f*cking km? Is he out of his freaking mind? Currently I’m Toos Conditieloos or in English Ms. WS (Without Stamina). So far from my Beast Mode era. And even then, I never ran more than 8.5K. I mean, have we met? I rather train on speed. I’m more of a chasing cheetah (a woman can dream right?!) than a Diesel.

It turns out that it can be completely silent at our office! Not only my brain is a few seconds away from being overheated. I hear brains cracking. All trying to solve one issue: what is the best way to get out of this challenge?
Status so far: unsolved.

What do you think? Should I just be cool and participate?

Love,

Jehan

 

 

Leave a Reply

