Out of breath

©  http://pixabay.com/© Photo bycfotografem
Post written by: Jehan Daal

Tell me how I’m supposed to breathe with no air
Can’t live can’t breathe with no air
It’s how I feel whenever you aint there
There’s no air no air
© Lyrics No Air – Jordin Sparks feat Chris Brown

The last week of September 
I return from a trip to Rome organized by the company I work for. After a weekend of ‘play hard’, it is finally time for the exhibition week. Just after I get on the plane I feel really nauseous, sweaty and cold at the same time. I assume that it is probably a cold. Take some painkillers and go to the exhibition. Figure that I could get some rest during the weekend and be up and running the next week.

But things turn out differently. I lie in bed during the weekend, but decide to take some painkillers and go to work the next morning. I become ill at work and a colleague has to drive me home. Turns out that I have a serious flu followed by a far more serious problem with my lungs. I can hardly breath and it does not get better. It feels like a heavy person is forcing his knees into my lungs.

Have to do some tests at the hospital and the verdict is that this is going to take a while a.k.a. weeks. 😥 The medicine: patience and taking care of myself. My new life? An intensive relationship with my bed. Even walking to the bathroom costs me lot’s of energy. Talking on the phone? An absolute no go! I reach the point where I start to feel desperate. Will things ever go back to normal again? But then things finally start to improve slowly, very very slowly.

I meet three sweet family members at KFC for a quick bite. (I know funny that a vegetarian goes to KFC. I eat some corn on the cob, fries and coleslaw) At 8 p.m. I am exhausted and lying in bed wondering if things will ever get better.

2BC

Leave a Reply

