Speak up or shut up

2014-03-18 Speak up or shut up© Dreamphemera.wordpress.com
Written by: Jehan Daal

Voting. Every time I receive my ballot paper, I am thankful. Thankful that I live in a country where I have the right to speak up, the right to vote. While there are still countries where you go to jail or even worse, you “disappear” when you speak your mind. Yup, another confession. I kinda like politics. I know a lot of people don’t. I love to watch the debates on television. I analyze why some politicians get away with false argumentation and even gain votes. How some soft voices overpower the loud ones etc. Very interesting. (I am starting to think that you readers and colleague bloggers think that I am nuts. I can ensure you, I’M NOT 😉 )

Everyone has an opinion on how the government rules the country and to be honest you should have. But at the same time I know that a lot of people who have the right to vote, won’t use it. They think it is lame, a waste of time or have another box filled with excuses why they shouldn’t.

About 15 people are talking about politics during lunchtime. Complaining is a better word for it actually. And I know that at least ten of them, didn’t vote. I sit down next to them. Not saying a word. They are looking at me and I pretend that I don’t know that they are.
“Don’t you have anything to say?”
I shrug. There are times that I am just not up for a heated discussion and this is one of them. They keep trying and pushing.
“Do you really want my opinion? I think that it all starts with voting. Make up your mind, and use your vote to speak up. If you do not take the time and effort to vote, then you should stay quiet when you think that they are messing up.”

That is really how I see it. I am excluding not voting because of circumstances, I am talking about people who are intentionally not going to vote. Pretending that they don’t care, while they are the first ones who complain when things are not going their way. Suddenly they can speak up, suddenly they have opinions and suddenly they would have done it completely differently. Yeah right!

It is like deciding to go on a holiday with someone. Pretending to be as flexible as rubber. The other one can pick the destination, the hotel and decide what the two of you are going to do. But then the destination is not right, the hotel is too cheap or too expensive, the food sucks and to you vacation means lying on the beach all day and not being sporty. ARG! Your know what? You had the time to speak up, now it is time to SHUT UP!

Wednesday the 19th of March it is election day for the cities and villages in the Netherlands. I have received my ballot paper again. For the first time I am a bit fed up with politics and all the promises they did not keep. Right is no longer right, left no longer left and even the middle seems up or down sometimes. I feel dizzy, perhaps I am lost in the land of politics. I think of all the people who fought for our right to speak up, I think of all the people who are still fighting for their right to speak up. There is no chance that I will let my chance to vote pass me by. I will speak up and hope that someone is listening!

For the Dutch people: are you going to vote?

2 thoughts on “Speak up or shut up

  1. Ofcourse i”m going to vote! I’m also looking forward to seeing your “Stemfie”! Please make one and post it online 🙂

    • I’m sorry, but I have to disappoint you. I already voted early this morning and I forgot to take my mobile with me. Did not think of it until I was actually in the building to vote. Perhaps you can surprise the readers and my colleague bloggers with your Stemfie?! 😉

Leave a Reply

