True love

2014-02-14 True love© Kbrandon @ http://www.sxc.hu
Written by: Jehan Daal

I fell in love with you when I was nine years old.
Or maybe before that, I cannot recall.
It was more than a simple crush, it was love.
I told everyone that you and I had a future together.
They laughed.
You could never provided me a healthy financial future.
Still I held on to you, the love of my life.

With you I could be me in every color.
One day sharp, the other one scary, shy or funny.
We made people laugh, think and sometimes cry.
Inseparable.
Together through life, secondary school, university.

Somehow, somewhere I lost you.
I lost myself in jobs.
In financial security.
And drifted away.
Far, far away from you.
And maybe from me.

Last year, when everything came down.
I heard you calling my name.
I turned around and there you were.
Much more mature.
Tears in my eyes.
I ran to run to you, like I never ran before.
You were standing there with you arms wide.
I jumped into your arms.
Without thinking or rethinking.
You held me so tight.

We are together, and when we are not.
I know that we will be soon.
Some days I wonder.
Why did I ever let you go.
But it does not matter.
I found my way home.

So I wrote this.
To remind me to hold on to you.
To love and to cherish.
Even on our off days.
Because you are my true love.
I dare say, till death do us part.

2 thoughts on “True love

  1. Jehan,

    I cannot wait to hear more to this tale.. I’m assuming there will be more… *raises eyebrows*

    The very first thing I thought of when you stated the existence of your love since you were 9 – was the movie Love and Basketball – I do not know if you have seen it, but if not.. you should totally check it out – BEAUTIFUL movie!

    ML
    x

  2. Miss Lou!
    Ha ha. Have not thought about that. To be continued 😉

    *Google* Love and Basketball.
    Nope have not seen that movie and have not heard of it before.
    *adds it to the must see list*

    How was your Valentine’s Day?

Leave a Reply

