X-mas: Nine memories

2013-12-24 X-mas thoughts

Written by: Jehan Daal

What do you think of, when you hear the word “Christmas”? I’m not talking about the obvious things like a Christmas tree, presents etc., but some memories. Here are nine of mine. I hope you will also share yours here or by email if that feels more safe to you. May all of you have some pleasant days filled with love, nice food and above all happiness.

Love,

Jehan

Smell like men do, urgh!
It was back in 1998, when I was in secondary school. We celebrated Christmas at school and it was very cozy. We were all dressed up. I still remember the dress I was wearing, dark blue with a checkered pattern. The boys were acting childish, like they always do ;-), even the smart guy I liked. He took the Axe Apollo deodorant of one of my male classmates and he sprayed it all over me. Urgh! Instead of smelling like the guy I liked, I reeked. The bus driver turned the heat up and the odor was spreading thoughout the whole bus. By the time I got home, I was as nauseous as a cat.

Receiving a X-mas card from the wrong guy
That same year, I received a Christmas card from the guy that my friend liked. Not to worry he was not in love with me, it was just a friendship card. But still, my friend was very pissed at me and thought for a second that I was after her guy.

Driving home for Christmas
It was erm, lets say not really cold outside. My friend T. and I were on our way home from Vinkeveen. Her iPod was connected to the car radio and suddenly after Guus Meeuwis (a Dutch artist) we heard “Driving home for Christmas”. We were shocked, looked at each other and started to laugh. Friend T. turned up the volume, we took a look at the driver next to us and sang like that time of the year was almost there.

All I want for Christmas
Whenever I hear this song, I think of the nine year old me twirling around the house. Yup, I was one of those girls. 😉

MY MOM!
She makes the house cozy and lovely. The person who made me love Christmas.With her, every Christmas is special.

Hoppedy, hoppedy chippedy chap falla falla heree
My brother C. who gets annoyed when he hears this line. He thinks it’s the stupidest line ever! Whenever I hear it, I must laugh thinking about his face. If you would love to see him mad, play this song and see how it turns out.

I’m your Angel
My father who loved this song, but never got the rhythm of it.

The guy, my guy situation
The guy, who should be my guy, who doesn’t like me back and is not with me during the holidays. Or the boyfriend I have, but who cannot spend the holidays with me. Either way, that always sucks.

Home made bread
Every year on Christmas eve, I make some special bread. It’s costs me much more time to make it than it takes them to eat it. There was a time when that annoyed me, now I take it as a compliment.

Leave a Reply

