A matter of time

A mater of time

Written by: Jehan Daal

Time. The weirdest thing if you ask me. Everyone knows that there are 60 seconds in one minute, 60 minutes in one hour, 24 hours in one day, etc. But the way we experience time depends on the situation. It flies when you are having fun and it seems like a never-ending story if you are going through a rough time. And the previous sentence describes how my life feels at this very moment. It seems like I attract bad luck. People who are close to me/around me, go through difficult times, get sick or even worse, they die. A nasty circle from which I can not escape, it seems.

I received a package from my friend M. The card tells me: open this when life seems like a black hole. Well that is the perfect description of my current situation. I open the box and take the beautiful hourglass out of it. I stare at it while the minutes glide away. As time goes by, my sarcasm starts to evaporate. I realize that life hasn’t been great lately, but it has only been eight weeks of non-stop crappy news. Even though it feels more like 52 weeks. Those weeks were terrible, but that doesn’t mean that I need to sit back passively and wait for the next piece of horrible news.

The top of the hourglass is already empty. Five minutes have gone by so fast, I can hardly believe it. Five minutes in which I wasn’t happy, but also not frustrated. Maybe those were the five minutes I still remember months from now. The five minutes in which I reboot my system, and choose to crush that horrible circle.

I turn the hourglass upside down again. A lot can happen in only five minutes. Having a laugh, planning a date with friends, meeting a new love, hearing that you got the job that you so desperately wanted. Taking on new changes. And suddenly in five minutes my life was no longer one black hole, now it had some light in it.

Now tell me: when was the last time that you felt like you watch wasn’t working properly? 

Leave a Reply

